Wyoming – s DUI Guide #wyoming #dui, #wyoming #dwi #laws, #2012 #wy #dui, #drunk #driving

No Comments

#

I just got arrested for a State of Wyoming DWUI / DUI charge. What happens next?

ISSUE ONE:The Wyoming Implied Consent / Administrative Per Se / Refusal Suspension Proceeding: Under Wyoming law, any person who drives or is in actual physical control of a motor vehicle upon a public street or highway in the State of Wyoming is deemed to have given consent to a chemical test or tests of his blood, breath or urine for the purpose of determining the alcohol concentration or controlled substance content of his blood. This is known as Wyoming s implied consent law.

Pursuant to Wyoming s implied consent law, your Wyoming drivers license (or your right to drive in Wyoming if you re not a Wyoming licensed driver) was most likely revoked for anywhere from 90 days to 18 months for failing or refusing a chemical (breath / blood / urine) test. This typically starts on the 30th day following your arrest.

Read your paperwork carefully. If you act within 20 days, you can request a hearing from the Wyoming DOT to challenge the proposed suspension. Speak to your Wyoming DUI attorney for more information about contesting your administrative (implied consent) license suspension.

ISSUE TWO:The Wyoming DWUI / DUI Criminal Case: Separate from the administrative license proceeding is the criminal charge either for driving while under the influence. Under Wyoming law, you commit the crime of DWUI if you drive or have actual physical control of any vehicle within Wyoming and you:

have a breath / blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more; or

you are under the influence of alcohol to a degree which renders you incapable of safely driving; or

under the influence of a controlled substance to a degree which renders you incapable of safely driving; or

under the influence of a combination of alcohol and a controlled substance to a degree which renders him incapable of safely driving.

Note: A person younger than 21 years of age shall not operate or be in actual physical control of a vehicle in the State of Wyoming with an alcohol concentration of 0.02 percent or more. This misdemeanor offense is known as unlawful operation of vehicle by youthful driver with detectable alcohol concentration.

I mportant: The implied consent / administrative license revocation proceeding and the criminal DWUI / DUI case are completely separate from one another.

Will my Wyoming driver license be suspended or revoked?

RELATED TO ISSUE ONE ABOVE: Your Wyoming driver license (or your right to drive in Wyoming if you do not have a valid Wyoming license) may be suspended in the implied consent proceeding for failing or refusing a chemical test for alcohol and / or drugs. The revocation periods are outlined in the table below:

IMPLIED CONSENT / ADMINISTRATIVE LICENSE SUSPENSION PERIOD
(FOR PERSONS 21 AND OVER)

Implied Consent Action

Again, you may challenge this proposed suspension if you make a timely hearing request.

RELATED TO ISSUE TWO ABOVE: If you are convicted of the DUI charge, your Wyoming license (or your right to drive in Wyoming if you don t have a valid license) for between 90 days and one year depending on your DUI / DWUI history.

What happens if I get caught driving while my license is suspended?

Under Wyoming law, you may not drive a motor vehicle on any public highway in the State of Wyoming at a time when your driver s license, from this or any other jurisdiction, or nonresident operating privileges are cancelled, suspended or revoked. Therefore, if you drive while your license is under suspension for failing or refusing a breath test or following a DWUI conviction, you commit a misdemeanor crime. Penalties include possible jail time and a fine. A second conviction for driving under suspension can result in a minimum seven day jail sentence.

I really need to drive. Will I be able to get a restricted license / hardship permit / occupational / conditional / probationary license?

You may be eligible for a probationary license. However, a probationary license can only be issued for the first DWUI. If it is your second or subsequent DWUI, within the past five years, you cannot get a probationary driver s license.

If you refused a chemical test or are suspended for a DWUI conviction, you may eligible for an ignition interlock restricted license after serving at least 45 days of your suspension. Speak to your Wyoming lawyer for more information on the IID restricted license.

What is the difference between a DUI, DWUI, DWI, OWI, OVI etc.

These terms are all acronyms that refer to the crime commonly known as drunk driving. Different states have different names for the crime based on how their statutes are phrased. For example, in Colorado . the terms DUI (driving under the influence) and DWAI (driving while ability impaired) are used. In Michigan . OWI (operating while intoxicated) is commonly used. The State of Missouri uses DWI (driving while intoxicated).

Wyoming s statute refers to, d riving or having control of vehicle w hile u nder i nfluence of intoxicating liquor or controlled substances so the terms DWUI as well as DUI are most commonly used here.

Is a DWUI offense in Wyoming a misdemeanor or felony charge?

In Wyoming, a first or second or third DUI / DWUI conviction is a misdemeanor crime. A fourth or greater offense within the past five years is a felony charge.

What type of penalties might I face if I am convicted of an Wyoming DUI charge?

Upon conviction of an Wyoming drunk driving charge, a defendant can receive a variety of penalties including a substance abuse assessment and treatment. A range of penalties is set forth below:


WYOMING DWUI / DUI PENALTY CHART


Categories: News Tags: Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Florida DUI – DWI Laws – Enforcement #florida #dui, #florida #dwi, #florida #dui #laws, #florida

No Comments

#

DUI DWI in Florida

Because drinking and driving is so dangerous, the penalties for doing so are extremely harsh in Florida. The state is serious about curbing injuries and deaths from alcohol-related crashes. The more DUIs you receive, the worse the penalties become. Not to mention the fact that both the courts and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, will have a say in what happens to you after you are stopped for driving under the influence.

Driving under the influence (DUI) is defined as operating a motor vehicle while impaired with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, a chemical substance, or a controlled substance. Those under 21 years old will be charged with a DUI if their BAC is 0.02% or over and commercial drivers will be charged if their BAC is 0.04% or over.

First DUI Conviction in Florida

Even your 1st DUI conviction can be costly both in time, fines and living with the consequences. The courts (criminal penalties) and the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (Administrative penalties) can take actions such as:

Administrative Penalties

  • Driver’s license suspension/revocation: 180 days to 1 year
  • DUI Program (if required) and fee: $15
  • Administrative fee: $130.
  • Driver’s license reinstatement fee:
    • Suspension: $45
    • Revocation: $75.
  • Maintain FR-44 for 3 years
  • Ignition Interlock Device and fee of $12 (if granted a restricted driver’s license).

Criminal Penalties

  • Fines of $500 to $1,000.
    • If you have a BAL of 0.15% or higher, or had a minor in the car, the fine will range between $1,000 and $2,000.
  • Community service. Mandatory 50 hours, or an additional fine equaling $10 per required community service hour.
  • Probation of no more than 1 year.
  • Jail time of up to 6 months. For BAL of 0.15% or higher, the sentence could last 9 months.
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days (not counted during your incarceration)
  • Ignition Interlock Device.

Second DUI Conviction

Administrative Penalties

  • Driver’s license suspension/revocation
    • Not within 5 years: 180 days to 1 year
    • Within 5 years: 5 years
  • DUI Program (if required) and fee: $15
  • Administrative fee: $130.
  • Driver’s license reinstatement fee:
    • Suspension: $45
    • Revocation: $75.
  • Maintain FR-44 for 3 years
  • Ignition Interlock Device: $12 if granted a restricted driver’s license.

Criminal Penalties

  • Fines of $1,000 to $2,000. For BAL of .0.15% or higher, or a minor in the car, minimum $2,000 to $4,000.
  • Jail time of not more than 9 months. A BAL of .0.15% or higher, or driving with a minor in the car, will require up to 12 months*.
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days.*

Third FL DUI Conviction

Administrative Penalties

  • Driver’s license suspension/revocation:
    • Not within 10 years: 180 days to 1 year.
    • Previous offense within 5 years: 5 years
    • Last 2 offenses within 10 years: 10 years
    • DUI Program (if required) and fee: $15
    • Administrative fee: $130.
    • Driver’s license reinstatement fee:
      • Suspension: $45
      • Revocation: $75.
      • Maintain FR-44 for 3 years
      • Ignition Interlock Device: $12 if granted a restricted driver’s license.

    Criminal Penalties

    • Fines of $2,000 to $5,000. If your BAL was .0.15% or higher or you had a minor in the vehicle, the minimum fine is $4,000.
    • Jail time. Mandatory 30 days. Depending on previous convictions the maximum jail time is 12 months.*
    • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days.*

    Fourth or Subsequent DUI Conviction

    Administrative Penalties

    • Driver’s license suspension/revocation: 5 years (no hardship available)
    • DUI Program (if required) and fee: $15
    • Administrative fee: $130.
    • Driver’s license reinstatement fee:
      • Suspension: $45
      • Revocation: $75.
    • Maintain FR-44 for 3 years
    • Ignition Interlock Device: $12 if granted a restricted driver’s license.

    Criminal Penalties

    • Minimum $2,000 fine.
    • Jail time of up to 5 years.

    FL Drivers Younger Than 21 Years of Age

    Young drivers who are found with a BAC of 0.02% or higher are subject to an automatic Administrative suspension of 6 months by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. For most people, a single drink will put them over that limit. More than one conviction,or refusing to take a BAC test, will have you lose your license for much longer:

    • DUI 2nd offense: 1 year.
    • Refusing to take BAC test 1st offense: 1 year.
    • Refusing to take BAC test 2nd offense: 18 months.

    DUI Misdemeanors, Felonies and Manslaughter

    The penalties listed above may sound harsh, but they’re really the best-case scenario for a person who makes the decision to drink alcohol and then get into a car and drive. If you hurt someone while impaired or, worse yet, cause a death, the above penalties will seem like a slap on the wrist. DUI Misdemeanors, Felonies and Manslaughter carry extremely high penalties.
    Administrative actions alone carry permanent revocation of your license with very little hope for a hardship license within 5 years if you cause a fatality. If you have had any prior convictions for DUI you will never be allowed to possess a driver’s license again. This does not include the fines of up to $10,000 you could pay or the 30 years imprisonment you may face for a DUI Manslaughter or Felony charge.

    License Reinstatements by the FL DHSMV

    Even if you haven’t caused injuries or served jail time, losing your license can seriously affect other areas of your life, not the least of which is your job.

    Hardship License Reinstatement

    In some cases, it might be possible to have your suspended license reinstated for hardship purposes, meaning to drive to and from work only. You’ll have to complete a DUI program and probably have an ignition interlock device installed on your car for 6 months to 5 years.

    Ignition Interlock Device

    The ignition interlock device requires the driver to give a breath sample before starting the car. If the BAC is more than 0.025%, the car will not start. The device even submits the driver to “rolling retests,” meaning an alarm will sound and the driver must give a sample while operating the vehicle. Even if you don’t apply for a hardship reinstatement, you’ll still be required to take the DUI course and possibly use an ignition interlock device. There’s no way to recover from a DUI conviction easily or quickly. The best idea is the simplest: Don’t drink and drive, period. For more official details and regulations concerning DUI convictions, please see the state’s website.

Related Products and Services

DMV.org Insurance Finder

Join 1,972,984 Americans who searched DMV.org for car insurance rates:


Categories: News Tags: Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Underage Drinking #dui, #dwi, #attorney, #legal, #law, #drinking #and #driving, #dc, #district #of #columbia, #washington

No Comments

#

DC DUI Lawyer

Underage Drinking

Details Written by Christopher J. Mutimer Parent Category: Washington, DC Published: 06 June 2011

If you are under the age of 21 and arrested for underage drinking in Washington, DC, you should contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Underage drinking charges in Washington, DC carry a maximum sentence of a $300 fine and a 90 day suspension of your driving privileges if convicted. What you are probably more concerned about than the potential penalty is whether you will have a criminal record, and what a university will do you in terms of academic discipline.

As a Washington, DC underage drinking lawyer, I would like to answer these questions. First, there is a lot that can be done to prevent you from getting a conviction for underage drinking. Your lawyer may be able to negotiate a community service diversion where you will be required to complete a certain number community service hours at one of over 30 approved non-profit organizations in the District in exchange for all charges being dismissed. There is also the possibility of a deferred prosecution agreement (DPA) or a deferred sentencing agreement (DPA), all of which can result in no convictions on your record.

If you have been charged with any of these Washington, DC drunk driving offenses or any other DC crime, contact Attorney Christopher J. Mutimer by calling (202) 670-2390 or by filling out an online contact form. Credit Cards Accepted

Christopher J. Mutimer, Esq.


New Hampshire DUI & DWI Attorneys – LII Attorney Directory, dwi lawyers nh.#Dwi #lawyers #nh

No Comments

#

New Hampshire DUI & DWI Lawyers

Find New Hampshire DUI & DWI Attorneys by City

Find New Hampshire DUI & DWI Attorneys by County

Shawn P. Sweeney

Dwi lawyers nh

17 years experience

John Tenn

Dwi lawyers nh

24 years experience

George T. Campbell III

Dwi lawyers nh

22 years experience

Attorney at Law

Dwi lawyers nh

Dwi lawyers nh

Richard E. Samdperil

Dwi lawyers nh

Raymond Tamayo

Dwi lawyers nh

Joseph D Garrison

Dwi lawyers nh

Leonard D. Harden

Dwi lawyers nh

John Tenn

Dwi lawyers nh

Paul Garrity

Dwi lawyers nh

Michael Stephen Bowser Jr.

Dwi lawyers nh

John T. Pendleton

Dwi lawyers nh

Vincent J. Marconi Jr.

Dwi lawyers nh

Mark Stevens

Dwi lawyers nh

Shawn P. Sweeney

Dwi lawyers nh

Neil Nicholson

Dwi lawyers nh

Robert Bartis Esq

Dwi lawyers nh

Theodore Lothstein

Dwi lawyers nh

Joseph Caulfield

Dwi lawyers nh

Russell Goldsmith Esq

Dwi lawyers nh

James Shaw

Dwi lawyers nh

Richard E. Clark Esq.

Dwi lawyers nh

Oliver Sakellarios

Dwi lawyers nh

Ryan Russman

The LII Lawyer Directory contains lawyers who have claimed their profiles and are actively seeking clients. Find more New Hampshire DUI & DWI Lawyers in the Justia Legal Services and Lawyers Directory which includes profiles of more than one million lawyers licensed to practice in the United States, in addition to profiles of legal aid, pro bono and legal service organizations.

Researching Attorney Discipline

Dwi lawyers nh Dwi lawyers nh


Categories: News Tags: Tags: , ,

California DUI Lawyers Association #california, #ca, #dui, #dwi, #drunk #driving, #directory, #defense, #attorney, #attorneys, #lawyer,

No Comments

#

Oldest Drunk Driving Defense Bar Association in the United States

DRUNK DRIVING IS DANGEROUS! WRONGFUL DUI CONVICTIONS ARE DANGEROUS! PROTECT YOUR LICENSE. PROTECT YOUR RIGHTS.

Our attorney members throughout California, including Orange. San Diego. Los Angeles counties, all the way to the Bay Area and Northern California, including Fresno, Oakland, San Jose. Sacramento, San Francisco and Santa Rosa consist of mothers, fathers, daughters, sons and some grandparents. We put the safety of our communities and our friends and families above anything. Our members believe in the safety of our streets and have consistently advocated this position on television and on websites solely dedicated to the prevention of Driving Under the Influence.

Our experience has taught us that we are rarely approached for help until after one has been arrested for Driving Under the Influence. We encourage anyone who needs help or guidance in this area or a guest speaker for any event to please contact our organization and we would be happy to help you free of charge to help get our message of prevention and the goal of community safety to as many people as we can. We have seen the consequences first hand and would love to share our experience.

The heavy burden, costs and inconvenience that occur with every Driving Under the Influence arrest are extreme, but the cases can be successfully defended based on the facts of your case.Driving Under the Influence is simply not worth the consequences and most importantly, the dangers presented to the public at large. Many times the message we wish to present falls on deaf ears, but the message certainly carries more weight when presented by Driving Under the Influence attorneys. If you are arrested for Driving Under the Influence and require the help of one of our members, please share your experience candidly with them so that you’ll receive competent representation in the Department of Motor Vehicles as well as in the DUI court. Fight your case – California’s criminal justice system can stand no less than perfection when you are potentially “not guilty”.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact any of our California DUI attorney members who will be happy to assist you in any matter. Finally, please be safe. We would rather have a safe community above anything else and are willing to assist in any way we can.

California Drunk or Impaired DUI Law for the Public

Attention: If you have just been arrested for a drunk driving or impaired operating charge in the State of California, beware of the DUI laws in this state – the penalties can be severe for even a first offense and reduced charges are possible if you have a decent case and a knowledgeable defense lawyer. Nothing in this site is legal advice and nothing can replace a competent lawyer representing you. Don’t go to court or the DMV without a DUI lawyer representing you – get the public defender if you cannot afford a DUI attorney. Remain silent and only discuss your case with a licensed lawyer – we are not a DUI lawyer referral service but you may review our members listings – use Find a CA DUI Attorney

Will you be on a jury? Jury Duty – An Honored Service – Read this before serving

An IID for all convicted – Ignition Interlock for First Offenders and Multiple Offenders

California Code of Regulations Title 17 – Forensic Alcohol Analysis and Breath Alcohol Analysis

Watch 10 Rules for Dealing with Police

Find a California DUI Class

California Drug and Alcohol Recovery

Find out about, or rate, your judge, prosecutor, & defense attorney

Drugs and Driving


Oklahoma City Drunk Driving Defense Attorney #fabian # # #associates, #attorney, #lawyer, #lawer, #laywer, #atorney,

No Comments

#

Oklahoma Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
Statewide Representation

Have you been charged with a DUI? Scared?

You should be. DUI charges can be life-changing. Not only can you go to jail for DUI, you can lose your license, Class A and perhaps worse, you can be tainted with a conviction for life. Of course, you can be fined, and your insurance rates are sure to skyrocket.

Conveniently located in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, our DUI Defense Team at Fabian Associates understands the seriousness of your DUI charges. We have extensive experience and have enjoyed an overwhelming success over the last 20 years defending DUI charges.

Experienced Oklahoma Drunk Driving Defense Attorney

DUI attorney Stephen Fabian has a reputation for innovative and aggressive defense of DUI and driver’s license revocation cases.

Mr. Fabian was General Counsel and police legal advisor to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) and Oklahoma Highway Patrol. During his 14 years there, he created and implemented the revised Implied Consent Laws and trained all Oklahoma police officers in their implementation.

For unparalleled representation against Oklahoma DUI charges, contact our DUI defense team ASAP. The sooner you contact us, the better your chances of prevailing!

Serious DUI Defense Attorneys for Serious Alcohol Related Charges


California DUI Lawyers – Obtaining Car Insurance After DUI, CA #dui #lawyer,california #dui #defense #attorneys,dwi,california

No Comments

#

Car Insurance After a DUI

Insurance companies will increase premiums after a drunk driving conviction by as much as two or three times. In most cases, this is simply price gouging as the statistical incidence of accidents caused by convicted first offenders is far below the level that would justify the increases. There are no laws regulating the premiums charged, however; they vary wildly from one company to another and certainly justify comparison shopping.

How a DUI Conviction Affects Your Insurance
Information on a national level from the insurance industry.

What Your Insurance Company Knows About You
An inside look at how auto insurance companies get information and what they are likely to know about you and your driving record when you apply for coverage.

What happens to my insurance after a DUI?
Helpful information about DUI and car insurance, SR-22s and 5 mistakes that raise your insurance .

California Assigned Risk Plan
This is a processing center for putting drivers in touch with insurance companies who are required by law to cover them.

Serenity Insurance
DUI specialists will help with getting the California DMV’s SR22 Proof of Insurance after a DUI.

Proof of Insurance
Another insurance company that will provide assistance with the SR22 form from the DMV.

FreeAdvice.com
Information on “high risk” insurance, getting the SR22, etc.


New Hampshire Security Deposit Limits and Deadlines #new #hampshire #dwi #lawyers

No Comments

#

New Hampshire Security Deposit Limits and Deadlines

Most residential leases and rental agreements in New Hampshire require a security deposit. This is a dollar amount, usually one month’s rent, that’s intended to cover damage to the premises beyond normal wear and tear, and to cushion the financial blow if a tenant skips out early on the lease without paying. Here s a summary of New Hampshire landlord-tenant laws that cover the use and return of security deposits.

Does New Hampshire law limit how much a landlord can charge a tenant for a security deposit?

Yes. Under New Hampshire landlord-tenant laws, a landlord may charge a tenant the equivalent of one month’s rent for the security deposit or $100, whichever is greater. In New Hampshire, when the landlord and tenant share the rental property, there’s no statutory limit on the deposit.

New Hampshire landlords must pay interest on security deposits held for a year or longer.

To learn more about steps that tenants can take to protect their security deposit after they’ve paid it, check out Nolo’s article Protect Your Security Deposit When You Move In .

What about when a tenant moves out? What is the deadline in New Hampshire for returning a security deposit?

Under New Hampshire law, a landlord must return the tenant’s security deposit within 30 days after the tenant has moved out. If the tenant and landlord share the rental property and the deposit is more than 30 days’ rent, the landlord must provide a written agreement specifying when the deposit will be returned; but, if there’s no written agreement, the deadline is 20 days after the tenant vacates.

Learn more about tenants’ rights and landlords’ obligations when it comes to the return of the security deposit in Nolo’s chart Cleaning and Repairs a Landlord Can Deduct from a Security Deposit and Nolo’s article Get Your Security Deposit Back .

Is there additional information that New Hampshire landlords must provide to tenants when it comes to security deposits in New Hampshire?

Yes. Landlords in New Hampshire must provide a receipt stating the amount of the security deposit and the institution where it will be held, unless the tenant has paid the security deposit by personal or bank check or by a check issued by a government agency. And, in New Hampshire, a landlord must pay interest on any security deposit held for a year or longer.

Are there any exceptions to New Hampshire security deposit rules?

Yes. The entire security deposit law does not apply to landlords who lease a single-family residence and own no other rental property. The law also does not apply to a landlord who leases rental units in an owner-occupied building of five units or fewer (with the exception of units in the building that are occupied by a person 60 years of age or older).

Where can I look up New Hampshire law on security deposits?

If you want to go right to the source and look up New Hampshire law on security deposits — or if you’re writing a letter to your landlord or tenant and want to cite the applicable law — the relevant statute(s) can be found at New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated 540-A:5 to 540-A:8; 540-B:10. Your city or county might have different landlord-tenant and security deposit laws than those at the state level in New Hampshire. For tips on looking up New Hampshire state and local laws, check out Nolo’s State Laws Legal Research section.

You may also find useful information in the tenant guide available at http://doj.nh.gov/consumer/sourcebook/renting.htm.

Talk to a Landlord-Tenant attorney.


Categories: News Tags: Tags: , , ,

DWI & DUI Attorney in Springfield Missouri #dwi #attorney,springfield #mo,dui #lawyer,criminal #defense,dwi #missouri,driving #while #intoxicated

No Comments

#

Photos are simulated.

Criminal Defense Attorneys

Everybody makes bad decisions – don’t let your DWI turn your life upside down. If you have been charged with a drug or alcohol related driving offense, consider hiring a criminal defense attorney at soon as possible. The next few months will be difficult, but by working with the right team, you will make it through. Our experienced DWI attorneys would be proud to represent you. We know that every case is different, so please call us today to schedule a free consultation.

Potential DUI & DWI Penalties

Being charged with driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated is a serious offense which carries a wide range of consequences. In the short-term, you face a hefty fine and the possibility of jail time. However, the long-term consequences can be just as severe – increased insurance rates, revoked driving privileges, potential loss of employment, and a criminal record. Do not hesitate in finding an experienced, aggressive DUI attorney to fight for you.

How We Can Help

Sometimes there are good defenses to a DUI or DWI. Often there are good people who made a mistake and deserve a second chance. Our DWI lawyers have an intimate knowledge of the criminal justice system and licensing procedures. We will investigate your case from top to bottom, taking witness statements, reviewing police reports, and examining the evidence against you. Then we will work with you to determine the best possible course of action.

Cases We Handle

Our lawyers provide legal representation for DWIs and DUIs, as well as license reinstatement, SATOP, hardship licenses, SR-22 insurance, and expunction of alcohol offenses over ten years old. If you have received a citation for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol anywhere in Southwest Missouri, please contact us today at (417) 893-0394. If you need assistance with a standard traffic ticket, visit SpringfieldTrafficTickets.com .

About Our Firm

Local criminal defense attorneys John Hacker and Dan Romine partnered in 2013 to form the first law firm in Springfield, Missouri, dedicated solely to DUI and DWI defense. With years of combined experience, DWI Springfield has the team of lawyers you deserve. We are proud to have assisted numerous residents of Southwest Missouri, and we would now like the opportunity to assist you. Please contact us anytime to discuss your case.

The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements. DWI Springfield is not affiliated with or endorsed by the City of Springfield.


2800 Los Angeles DUI Attorney – Drunk driving and DWI Defense DUI Lawyer in Los

No Comments

#

DUI ATTORNEY.

A DUI (drunk driving) arrest and charge is a significant shock to most people since this may be their first serious encounter with the criminal justice system other than a traffic violation. For many, it is a wakeup call to make some changes in their lives. Drunk driving is a serious offense that can cost you thousands of dollars, not just in fines and legal fees, but in substantially increased car insurance premiums over a period of years and other consequences that can create many unwelcome changes in your life.

As a DUI offender, you will experience what it feels like to be arrested, handcuffed, and held in a detention area or cell and to appear before a judge. You will to deal with a restricted driver’s license, if you qualify or no license at all. Once you do have your license reinstated, you may have to go through the indignity of an interlock ignition system installed on your car that requires you to blow into it to ensure you have no alcohol in your system before it starts.

Depending on the California county where you are convicted, you will likely have to spend some time in jail. If this is not your first DUI arrest or conviction, you will undoubtedly have to spend an extended time in jail, which could affect your job, result in decreased or no income for a period that can cause financial chaos for you and your family, and loss of your driver’s license for months or years in some cases.

Although most DUI offenses are misdemeanors, you face increased penalties if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at least 0.15% or if you had a child under 14 as a passenger when you were arrested. If you caused an accident resulting in serious bodily injury or arrest, you could face felony charges or even vehicular manslaughter that could result in years in state prison.

A DUI is Public Record

A DUI conviction means you now have a criminal record that is public record. Your employer or potential employer will see it, and it can affect your ability to find rental housing or enroll in school.

$2800 DUI Attorney Promotion Includes FREE DMV Hearings & Easy Payment Plans

Need immediate assistance? Contact us now!
Toll Free 1 (888) 754-9860
Available 7 Days a Week 7am to 9pm

The Administrative Proceeding

Everyone arrested and facing a DUI charge has a parallel civil proceeding regarding the status of their driving privileges. Called an APS, or Administrative Per Se hearing, you have only 10 days to request a hearing or the Department of Motor Vehicles, or DMV, will suspend your license based on if you refused testing or if you have prior DUI convictions. At this hearing, which is held before a judge or administrative hearing officer, you or your attorney can contest:

  • The lawfulness of your traffic stop
  • Whether you were informed of your rights and understood them
  • The testing protocol
  • The accuracy of any breath or other blood alcohol test that was administered to you

Retain the DUI Attorney Group – California DUI Attorney

Anyone charged with a crime should get legal representation and a DUI is no exception. A DUI defense attorney can advise you of what to expect in your criminal and civil proceedings and what defenses are available to you. Every case is different and many times an experienced and resourceful DUI lawyer can challenge police and testing procedures that may lead to a dismissal or a negotiated plea resulting in no jail time, lesser fines or even a plea to a non-alcohol related offense. If you are successful at your APS hearing, you get to keep your license and have considerable negotiating power regarding your criminal charges.

No lawyer can guarantee you certain results, but a the DUI Attorney Group a California DUI lawyer can protect your rights, use every possible defense depending on the facts of your case and give you the best opportunity for a satisfactory outcome.